Books




Face of Winifred May Davies
Latest topics
» The Murder of Prince
Fri 22 Apr 2016 - 20:14 by Karen

» Joseph Barnett's Alleged Marriage in 1888
Wed 16 Mar 2016 - 11:53 by Saponarolla

» A Mary Jane Kelly document
Tue 15 Mar 2016 - 0:20 by Saponarolla

» Freemasons and Human Anatomy
Thu 10 Mar 2016 - 17:49 by Saponarolla

» Roslyn Hoax Reboot
Tue 8 Mar 2016 - 20:52 by Saponarolla

» The Life Of Mary Jane Kelly
Mon 7 Mar 2016 - 21:43 by Saponarolla

» Mad Trapper of Rat River
Mon 29 Feb 2016 - 15:45 by Saponarolla

» Who Poisoned James Maybrick?
Sat 27 Feb 2016 - 16:26 by Saponarolla

» The Real Serpent of the Garden
Sat 27 Feb 2016 - 0:56 by Karen

» The Fourth Reich
Tue 23 Feb 2016 - 14:26 by Saponarolla

Links












Gallery



Strand Betting Raid

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Strand Betting Raid

Post by Karen on Mon 15 Aug 2011 - 10:19

STRAND BETTING RAID.

At Bow-street Lewis Brown, described as an electrician, and his son, both living at Conmore-road, Wimbledon, were charged with having been found on the premises of Parke's Hotel, Maiden-lane, Strand, yesterday afternoon for the purpose of betting with persons resorting thereto.
Detective-Inspector Stockley said that he and two other officers went into the restaurant, asked both the accused to turn out their pockets, and found on them betting slips relating to horses running that day, a starting-price book, a book of racing rules, and some money.
The son said, "I take slips, but I don't take money." The elder defendant said, "I only take the slips; the money is posted to me."
Mr. Herbert Muskett prosecuted for the Commissioner of Police. The defendants were remanded on bail.

Source: The Daily Mail, Saturday May 16, 1908, Page 6

***************************************
Karen Trenouth
Author of: "Epiphany of the Whitechapel Murders"
Author of: "Jack the Ripper: The Satanic Team"

Karen
Admin

Posts : 4684

View user profile http://victorianripper.niceboard.org

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum