Books




Face of Winifred May Davies
Latest topics
» Allah, The Real Serpent of the Garden
Fri 23 Sep 2016 - 22:51 by Karen

» THE INNOCENCE OF JEWS
Mon 12 Sep 2016 - 15:55 by Karen

» Israel Shoots Down Drone - Peter Kucznir's Threat
Wed 24 Aug 2016 - 22:55 by Karen

» Rome is Babylon
Sun 24 Jul 2016 - 21:27 by Karen

» Barak Obama
Sat 2 Jul 2016 - 10:47 by Karen

» REAL MESSIAH
Thu 30 Jun 2016 - 17:54 by Karen

» 9/11 Investigation
Thu 30 Jun 2016 - 13:44 by Karen

» ISIS - ISLAMIC STATE OF IRAQ AND SYRIA
Mon 20 Jun 2016 - 18:59 by Karen

» The Word Barak Means "Lightning"
Wed 1 Jun 2016 - 20:55 by Karen

» The Murder of Prince
Fri 22 Apr 2016 - 20:14 by Karen

Links












Gallery



Strand Betting Raid

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Strand Betting Raid

Post by Karen on Mon 15 Aug 2011 - 10:19

STRAND BETTING RAID.

At Bow-street Lewis Brown, described as an electrician, and his son, both living at Conmore-road, Wimbledon, were charged with having been found on the premises of Parke's Hotel, Maiden-lane, Strand, yesterday afternoon for the purpose of betting with persons resorting thereto.
Detective-Inspector Stockley said that he and two other officers went into the restaurant, asked both the accused to turn out their pockets, and found on them betting slips relating to horses running that day, a starting-price book, a book of racing rules, and some money.
The son said, "I take slips, but I don't take money." The elder defendant said, "I only take the slips; the money is posted to me."
Mr. Herbert Muskett prosecuted for the Commissioner of Police. The defendants were remanded on bail.

Source: The Daily Mail, Saturday May 16, 1908, Page 6

***************************************
Karen Trenouth
Author of: "Epiphany of the Whitechapel Murders"
Author of: "Jack the Ripper: The Satanic Team"

Karen
Admin

Posts : 4852

View user profile http://victorianripper.niceboard.org

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum